The Wonderful World of Blogging

This week as part of my ECMP 355 class, I signed myself up for a Feedly account and started navigating the wonderful world of blogging! When I first logged onto my Feedly account, it seemed a little daunting. With so many blogs out there how would I know which to subscribe to? How could I find blogs that would be of interest to me and my views as a pre-service teacher? Well, it turns out it’s simple. First, I read this article  that gave a variety of great education blogs to follow. I did not follow every blog on the list, but instead read each description, and figured out which would be the most beneficial for me and my interests. After using the article, I simply typed “education” into the Feedly search box and went from there. I quickly found quite a few  interesting blogs this way, one being Edutopia. I then realized that I wanted to narrow down my search and focus in on educational topics that were of the most interest to me (mainly educational technology and inclusive education).

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.05.47 PM

Above is a screenshot of my Feedly page

It was during my search for inclusive education related blogs that I found a blog called The Autism Helper. The Autism Helper is a blog that aims to provide tools, resources, articles, etc. that can help support those working with individuals on the autism spectrum. The blog is split into different categories that enable readers to easily find what they are looking for. The categories include “Academics, Behaviour, Communication, Shop, and Get Involved.” From there, each category is subcategorized. For example, when looking under the “Behaviour” section, readers would find the subcategories “Data, Intervention, Organization & Classroom Set Up, Schedules, and Visuals.”After exploring this site, I think it is a wonderful resource for parents, teachers, and others working with people with disabilities. The articles are easy to read and personal, and the resources are very helpful. Even if readers do not want to buy the resources, they can still gain some great ideas that can be created and adapted to fit their own classroom. All articles and pictures can also be linked to Pinterest, so that I can go there and easily find any ideas or resources that I found especially helpful. I believe that this blog is invaluable for educators looking to adapt their teaching to fit the needs of all learners.

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.01.42 PM

Leave a Reply

