The Great Slacktivism Debate

Photo Credit: Elijah via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Elijah via Compfight cc

According to Techopedia, the term slacktivism refers to “simple measures used to support an issue or social cause involving virtually no effort on the part of participants” (Slacktivism, n.d.). Prior to this class, I had never heard of slacktivism, or how controversial the topic is. Who knew that one made up term could cause so much online debate! The more I research slacktivism and reflect on my own opinion of the practice, the more I realize that I still have not fully formed an opinion. As a result of an increased use of social media this term, I am realizing that I am someone whose opinion is easily swayed. It seems that every time I read an article, tweet, or blog post, I automatically agree with most of what is being said. I recognize that I need to question and critically analyze more, and agree less. However, this is a difficult pattern to break.

In an effort to wrap my head around the impact that slacktivism has on social change, I sifted through articles on the subject. This article written by Scott Gilmore for Maclean’s debates the negative effects that slacktivism can have. Gilmore writes about how social media has made slacktivism even worse than it used to be, and how people who like, share, or retweet social causes are doing so to make themselves look good rather than to actually help the social cause. Gilmore states that “the real root of the slacktivist problem is biological. Our brain has evolved to reward us for perceived altruism” (Gilmore, 2014). While I do not agree with all of Gilmore’s opinions, I do think that this quote has some truth to it. I’ll admit that any time I am asked to like, share, or retweet a cause and do so, it makes me feel like I have accomplished something and as a result I feel good about myself. It brings me to question my own intentions. Why should I feel better about myself just for clicking a mouse? Shouldn’t I be solely focused on the marginalized groups that the click of a mouse is supposedly advocating for?

Gilmore advises readers to quit being slacktivists and to simply either donate their time or money to a cause instead of using social media as a crutch. Maybe this is the “slacktivist” in me speaking, but what if you don’t have the money? What if you don’t have the time or resources to donate to a certain cause that you’re interested in? Is it really better to do nothing just so as to avoid being judged as doing it for your own benefit? In her post The Death of Slacktivism Gillian Branstetter argues that slacktivism no longer exists. She writes that “millennials, once maligned as spoil and lazy, are now armed to the teeth with the benefits of a digital world” (Branstetter, 2016). The gist of Branstetter’s post is that social media allows for better organized and publicized social causes. Her post cites quite a few social movements as evidence for the extinction of slacktivism, including Black Lives Matter and #FightFor15 to name a few.

After researching slacktivism, I am closer to forming an opinion but nowhere near finished. Yes, the click of a mouse may seem lazy compared to donating money or time to a cause, and can lead to perceived altruism. However, if social media were to be eliminated from social activism, I think causes would suffer. Social media allows social change issues to gain greater exposure, and can be a beneficial platform for social change when utilized correctly.

6 thoughts on “The Great Slacktivism Debate

  1. learningsharingteaching says:

    Love this Ashton! I also have trouble forming an opinion when everyone’s argument is so good and seems valid haha. I also haven’t made up my opinion on this, but I like to think that sometimes when we share, like, or retweet things, we are maybe sending it along to people who can do a little more than us in terms of time or finances. Maybe we can’t do anything more at the moment, but maybe someone who see’s what we’ve shared can. Obviously I’m still divided as well but it’s something I’m thinking through!

    • Ashton Mills says:

      You raise a great point, Ashley! Social media allows us to get the message out there. What I didn’t like about that article was the assumption that everyone is able to raise money or give time. While yes this would be ideal, it’s just not realistic! Plus, there are so many amazing causes that exist. It’s especially unrealistic to expect someone to donate money or time to every single cause that they’re interested in.

  2. bauche2l says:

    I can totally relate to you, Ashton, in the sense that I constant jump back and forth in my opinions regarding what I read. I change my mind constantly and social media has such a huge impact on my view on so many debates and topics. I also was completely unaware of this “slacktivist” debate before the duration of last weeks class. It is so interesting to me and seemingly so accurate when you look at things like the ice bucket challenge. Thanks for the interesting read!

    • Cherry says:

      Nach eigenen Angaben ist er der Sohn Walsers, s.o. Augstein soll ihn als Sohn anerkannt haben. Wie dem auch sei, er entstammt in jedem Fall einem aniemisttischen Umfeld.

    • immobilienkreditrechner says:

      NYC is the most fascinating city in North America. It is very expensive. You can choose to live in the Bronx or Brooklyn. It would be much cheaper. A roommate or two will help. It’s not like I found San Diego or San Francisco to be cheap! Was this answer helpful?

Leave a Reply

